Mazda 323,Mazda 626 & Mazda 929 Whether the compact 323, the mid sized 626, or the full sized 929, these vehicles remain very popular even though production has stopped.

99 626 HG job done,..Timing Qest..??

Old 10-19-2008, 09:19 AM
Default 99 626 HG job done,..Timing Qest..??

Hollo to everyone.. A newbie here.with first post... I'm a weekend warrior.. on cars.. like to play mechanic on weekends.I make my garage a mess...lol..lol,,. well.. family complaints... we know what that is like.. just done a head gasket job on my 626,.1999, with 2.0. and would like to see if anyone has good idea on the timing..... first,.. a good way to be able to reach into the tensioner,.belt,... it's very tight,... seems quite hard to reach into.. any suggestions and help will be appreciated.. meanwhile,.. I'll be looking into it,.. today,.. so sooner the better I guess.. if I do get to it.. I'll let you know.. and post it here.. thaks... someone.. welcome me..???lol//lol.. thanks..jc..

Old 10-19-2008, 09:44 AM
Default RE: 99 626 HG job done,..Timing Qest..??

You might be able to access the tensioner and other components by removing a wheel and wheelwell sidecover. The Mazda workshop manual has the complete procedure. If you don't have one, there's one being sold at ebaymotors. The seller wants a lot but is also taking best offers, give the seller an offer they can't refuse:-)

Old 10-19-2008, 11:21 AM

o.k.. thanks for reply.. you know I knd a thought of it... but it's a pain in the you know what.. and it's filthy dirty to remove all that.. well... kind a tired after hg job.. and was feeling little lazy....
thanks a lot for your info... I'll try get the manual soon... but hey.. I have finished my head gasket job without it.. well.. have done it couple of times before.. I'll get the manual anyways.. thanks.. 3-doors.. for alll your infos.. I'll get to it now... and post the results... jc..

Old 10-21-2008, 10:05 AM