Mazda 323,Mazda 626 & Mazda 929 Whether the compact 323, the mid sized 626, or the full sized 929, these vehicles remain very popular even though production has stopped.

1992 Mazda 323 REALLY low mileage

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2011, 08:09 PM
Default 1992 Mazda 323 REALLY low mileage

I recently bought an old 1992 Mazda 323 (for next to nothing, so no big loss) but I've found that the car only gets around 190 miles (300 km) to a tank. It's standard, the engine is in really great condition, starts instantly, drives really well, just gets very poor mileage. It has a Jacobs Omni Magnum ignition system installed, which is apparently supposed to make it more efficient.

Are there any Mazda experts who can suggest steps to figure out what the problem might be? I'm a novice and would like to learn a little by looking into this myself and hopefully find the problem before having to bring it in.

Last edited by Helmet; 01-16-2011 at 08:30 PM.
Old 01-16-2011, 09:49 PM

Originally Posted by Helmet
I recently bought an old 1992 Mazda 323 (for next to nothing, so no big loss) but I've found that the car only gets around 190 miles (300 km) to a tank. It's standard, the engine is in really great condition, starts instantly, drives really well, just gets very poor mileage. It has a Jacobs Omni Magnum ignition system installed, which is apparently supposed to make it more efficient.

Are there any Mazda experts who can suggest steps to figure out what the problem might be? I'm a novice and would like to learn a little by looking into this myself and hopefully find the problem before having to bring it in.