General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Lower Rad Hose Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2012, 05:25 PM
Cool Lower Rad Hose Question

Yes this will sound stupid, but i am new to imports having always owned and worked on domestic vehicles, Although this oversized go-kart is a lot of fun to drive i find mechanically, this car baffles me at times.

I have an 02 Protege 5, 2.0L, 5-speed, after driving for an hour i would expect the lower rad hose to be hot, just as the top one, but this isn't the case, the lower hose is cool, while the top one is hot. this would leave me to believe that, a). either the thermostat is stuck, or b). the flow is out from the bottom of the rad into the engine, through the engine and back out the upper rad hose to the rad.?? (at this point it wouldn't surprise me)

The car isn't over heating, the needle sits at half as it always has, I blew a thermostat on it once and the heat shot straight up, so i am sort of leaning away from a bad thermostat at the moment.

any insight on this would be great, Thanks

oh yea, does anyone know if it is possible to buy metal rear fender sections, or fiberglass if necessary, yes you know what sections i mean, I haven't been able to find any, you would think that is a part they could start making a killing on

Old 03-06-2012, 06:25 PM