General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

ECU, PCM & KAM Resetting.

  #1  
Old 06-24-2013, 06:44 AM
turboturney's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Essex UK
Posts: 42
Default ECU, PCM & KAM Resetting.

Found these solutions to resetting memories.

1) to reset ECU the easiest way is,

Take off the negative lead of the battery,
Sit in the driver's seat of your Mazda
turn headlights on and off
press horn
Push down and release the brake pedal five times consecutively.
Wait 10-15 minutes to reconnect and ECU should be reset.

if your not sure if it worked leave it off for a few hours
Reconnect the "Negative" terminal clamp on your Mazda's battery.
Turn your car on and let it idle for a few minutes to learn the mapping and drive like a granny for the first 30 mins! the ecu will learn that minimal fuel usage is what you want and it'll stick to it!

coz if you floor it as soon as you do it it'll learn that pumping fuel in is the way to go


2) There are two reset procedures, one for the NVRAM and the other for the KAM. Neither will erase your radio presets.

1) With the key in the off position, press and hold the odometer reset button and turn the key to on;
Continue to hold the odo button until the odometer reads "TEST" and then release.
2) Turn the key to off and repeat step one.

This will reset the entire PCM except the KAM which contains the sensor profiles amongst other things. You can reset it with the familiar procedure:

1) Turn the key to on
2) Depress the brake pedal rapidly 20 times in a row until the oil pressure gauge sweeps to halfway and back again.

Hope these solutions help any problems you all may need to solve.
 

Last edited by turboturney; 08-05-2013 at 01:24 PM. Reason: Bad Spelling
  #2  
Old 06-24-2013, 08:08 AM
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,636
Default

I may have to keep this as one of my favs, or better yet copy and paste it in to a word document under my "Mazda Stuff" Folder.
I'm quite sure you have seen me type the short version of this many times (gives me typing practice i guess).

After doing this on my Mazda 6 my Passenger window will also not work from the driver side. To correct this I first put the passenger window down from the passenger side. Now I start putting it up with my right hand----while it’s going up I use my left hand and put the window up using the driver side control for that window, keep holding both buttons up for 20 seconds after the window has reached the top.
 

Last edited by UseYourNoggin; 06-24-2013 at 08:17 AM. Reason: Passenger side window re-set procedure
  #3  
Old 06-24-2013, 08:15 AM
turboturney's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Essex UK
Posts: 42
Default

Your Welcome Mate, and Happy Birthday
 
  #4  
Old 06-24-2013, 08:40 AM
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,636
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by turboturney View Post
Your Welcome Mate, and Happy Birthday
Thanx, you must have visited my page-mini stats.
I've been on this Forum 1.5 year as well. (long for me).
 
  #5  
Old 07-31-2017, 03:32 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: OH
Posts: 2
Default Problem

When I report the last kam reset my check engine light flashes.... also when I attempt to reset the window button om the drivers door panel for the front passenger door it also flashes. What should I do?
 
  #6  
Old 11-17-2018, 10:32 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1
Default To the guy that is having trans and passenger window and fuel problems

Not sure about ur window but everything but the window was going on with mine and the only thing I had to do after buying a 800 dollar throttle body I never used was a accual tune just plugs and wires and the throttle positioning sensor that sensor will make it feel like ur trans and throttle body are both going out and it's just that even acts like it could be the mass air flow sensor but it's not just that tos sensor and nothing went wrong with mine and just rest ur ecu by undoing both the negative and positive battery cable wait a few mins turn everything on u can that uses power to drain the rest of the power out then finally hold both of them together after that put them back on step on ur brake pedal 10 timers hit ur gas kettle 5 6 times start the car and it should run like new
 
  #7  
Old 03-15-2019, 01:40 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 1
Default Is for manuel transmission or manuel?

Is it for automatic transmission or manuel? Thank you!

Originally Posted by turboturney View Post
Found these solutions to resetting memories.

1) to reset ECU the easiest way is,

Take off the negative lead of the battery,
Sit in the driver's seat of your Mazda
turn headlights on and off
press horn
Push down and release the brake pedal five times consecutively.
Wait 10-15 minutes to reconnect and ECU should be reset.

if your not sure if it worked leave it off for a few hours
Reconnect the "Negative" terminal clamp on your Mazda's battery.
Turn your car on and let it idle for a few minutes to learn the mapping and drive like a granny for the first 30 mins! the ecu will learn that minimal fuel usage is what you want and it'll stick to it!

coz if you floor it as soon as you do it it'll learn that pumping fuel in is the way to go


2) There are two reset procedures, one for the NVRAM and the other for the KAM. Neither will erase your radio presets.

1) With the key in the off position, press and hold the odometer reset button and turn the key to on;
Continue to hold the odo button until the odometer reads "TEST" and then release.
2) Turn the key to off and repeat step one.

This will reset the entire PCM except the KAM which contains the sensor profiles amongst other things. You can reset it with the familiar procedure:

1) Turn the key to on
2) Depress the brake pedal rapidly 20 times in a row until the oil pressure gauge sweeps to halfway and back again.

Hope these solutions help any problems you all may need to solve.
 
  #8  
Old 03-16-2019, 03:22 AM
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 3,403
Default

Procedure is for all Mazda's, regardless of engine or transmission.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mach42006
Mazda3
6
02-06-2016 03:59 AM
eirikvik
Mazda3
1
04-21-2014 07:46 AM
JoTechCan
General Tech
0
06-11-2007 03:28 PM
Jmoore284
General Tech
0
11-15-2004 10:07 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: ECU, PCM & KAM Resetting.


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.