Mazda Millenia This sedan, the flagship luxury sedan, offers both a naturally aspirated and supercharged model, so you can have your luxury, and, if you have a need for speed, big horsepower.

Moisture in car, help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2009, 12:09 PM
Unhappy Moisture in car, help!

Hello Im Dee,
Im new at this and this is my first post. =]

I have a question about a 2001 mazda millenia, I have alot of moisture inside my car. On a really cold day ice will be on the outside of the car, but also on the inside on all the windows. The windows are always steamy and foggy all the time. What can I do to get rid of the mositure?

PS: Its really really annoying.

Thanks,
Dee.

Old 01-31-2009, 06:33 PM

Fogging of the inside of the windows is caused by moisture - duh!! Well it may sound simple but the question is "Where is the moisture coming from and why isn't it leaving the inside of the car??"

One source of moisture is a leak in the heater core. Check for dampness in the rugs where your feet rest - mainly on the passenger side front.

Second, moisture is brought in with snow from your feet (in cold climates naturally) and remains in the carpets.

Third, moisture is brought in with your body. Every breath you take pumps moisture into the inside of the car. Perspiration, even in the winter, will bring moisture in the car with you. Four people in a standard car will fog up the windows in a few minutes - if and only if you don't remove the moisture from the car!!

That is the key - removing any moisture from the inside of the car no matter how it got in there in the first place. Normally, the ventilation system of your car is capable of removing the moisture IF you have it turned on, and IF you have it set for FRESH AIR, not set in the recirculating air mode. 99% of all car ventilation systems have the capability of turning the system off and/or recirculating the inside air as well as bringing in fresh air from the outside.