New Member Area New to MF? Stop in tell us about you.

New member, old Mazda - Old school Mazdaspeed inside

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2010, 02:12 PM
JSE
Default New member, old Mazda - Old school Mazdaspeed inside

Hey everyone!

My name is Jesse, I'm a San Diego resident, I love GD chassis Mazdas.

This is the one I'm working on the most right now:

I've been slowly putting it together over the last nine months to compete in a San Diego racing series, Formula B.

http://formulabuild.com

The gist of it is that you compete in one show, three autocrosses, and three drag races over the summer racing season. The twist is that the car has to be purchased and built for $2000 or less, and everything has to be documented. Some things like tires, fluids, and paint (if you do it yourself) don't count.

Mods so far are:

2.5" turbo-back exhaust
Tokico Illuminas
Vogtland springs
Front/rear strut tower bars
Mazda 929 wheels
Water to air intercooler w/5 gallon reservoir

The folks at CorkSport have been incredibly helpful in guiding me down the best zoom per dollar path. Highly recommend doing business with them should you have the opportunity.

Here's the intercooler setup, please pardon the messy bay and trunk, I haven't gotten to clean everything up since the install. A lot had to be shuffled around under the hood to make room for the IC core.

And bonus shot of my other 89 GT, which I'll get to work on when I finish this one up in the next couple of weeks.

Also own a DSM (red one in the foreground), but it is boring and stock, and not a Mazda

Anyway, looking forward to being a part of the community!

Last edited by JSE; 10-27-2010 at 02:16 PM.
Old 10-28-2010, 03:18 AM
Super Moderator

Hey JSE!!! I LOVE that somebody still has Voo-Voo for the first gen MX6's!! I also happen to like the GE too, but have to admit to never actually driving one.

The orange car looks GREAT!! There is just something about that body that, to me at least, never gets old.