Mazda6 This powerful new sedan offers a sporty feel and stout engine, all without compromising the ability to seat 5.

Mazda6 Manual Gearbox - Query

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2006, 07:02 AM
CJP
Default Mazda6 Manual Gearbox - Query

Hi, I’ve just bought a Mazda6 2.3 Sport; it’s on an O2 52 Plate with 23,500 miles. I was searching the web to see if I could find some more information and if possible a forum where I could post questions if I had any and found this forum.

One thing that I have noticed with the car is that when changing gear it doesn’t always feel smooth. At low rpm it feels better with the exception of 5th. The higher the rpm the more difficult or clunky the shift feels.
I’m no expert but it feels like the syncros are working properly. I have tried depressing the clutch fully to the point of compressing the carpet, and this makes no difference. Down shifting is the same.

I would be most grateful if someone could either put my mind at rest and confirm that this is usual with this car or alternatively if it is a known fault then I can get it fixed under warranty, any help or advice would be gratefully received, thanks.

Old 01-31-2006, 02:19 PM
Default RE: Mazda6 Manual Gearbox - Query

I haven't had the same issues with my 6s. You might try switching to Redline Synthetic transmission fluid. It made a night and day difference in our Miata's 6-speed. If that doesn't smooth out the shifts, then I'd take it to the dealer although I'm not sure what they would tell you.

Old 01-31-2006, 09:36 PM

The 6 has a high clutch point. The closer you can get to pushing the clutch just beyond the catch point the smoother the shift will be. You don't want to push all the way to the carpet as your return will just make it more difficult to not slap the tranny into gear. Also try to make your shift points at lower RPM if your looking to conserve gas and not go too hard on your tranny.

D to the B

Old 02-01-2006, 07:00 AM
CJP