Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/)
-   Mazda3 (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/)
-   -   2010 Mazda 3 upgrades (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/2010-mazda-3-upgrades-23153/)

Ailadad 06-16-2010 10:29 AM

2010 Mazda 3 upgrades

Hey all,

I bought a 2010 2.5L Mazda 3 hatch a few days ago. I already have a K&N air filter in it. I'm wondering if there is anything else I can do to help improve HP and MPGs, that is relatively low in cost and installation. I am not a mechanic, but I do work with electronics, so I would be comfortable with that. I could maybe do some light mechanical work, if need be.

I am specifically wondering about a performance chip to gain HP and MPGs. I have seen these over the years. Is there any truth to them? If so which one would work best? If I install it, what considerations must I think about after words, if at all (grade of gas, extra stress on the engine, etc, etc.)

This is one that I just stumbled upon online, no real clue if it works or not.

http://www.performancechipsdirect.com/Mazda/3-4Dr-HB/

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance,

Tracker 06-16-2010 07:15 PM

Im calling bs on that, for the longest time the Mazda 3 was unchipable, i find it EXTREMELY hard to believe that not only they have one from some no name company but one for a 2.5l. About the only legit things you can do is add an exhaust system. You do realize that a chip mod requires soldering it into your ECU, for the cars that are available that work.

virgin1 06-16-2010 07:38 PM

I'm afraid I'm w/Tracker on this one.
The old rule of thumb: If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
I have bought some of these fix-it-alls in my past and ALWAYS been disappointed.

The ECU in the Mazda is not very open to being messed with and only a few have succeeded... at a cost of around $1500, not $70.