Mazda Tribute This low-priced SUV allows the driver the versatility of an SUV without the big fuel bill of many of the vehicles in the SUV class.

3 front spark plugs replaced.. now engine runs rough.

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2009, 02:18 AM
Default 3 front spark plugs replaced.. now engine runs rough.

As a automotive tech, I rarely work on mazda's but he , the customer was insistant in having me troubleshoot a run rough/low power issue after he changed the spark plugs.

What he did was change the front three spark plugs. He removed the coil packs, replaced the plugs and reinstalled. The engine has the well known 1 cylinder thump miss characteristic of vacuum leak,bad spark misfire or just plain dead cylinder from no compression.

So I attempt to isolate the issue. I checked the plugs, re tightened and same issue. I pulled all three coil packs and checked the primary and secondary resistance. Primary side of coils 4,5,6 were less then one ohm each. Secondary side was 19k ohms on all three coils so all are good.

I would pull the coil on #5 coil pack. http://autorepair.about.com/library/...bl-fo-1733.htm
Had a very noticeable engine rpm drop so that cylinder was good. Pulled the coil pack connectors to #4 and #6 and got almost no change in cylinder rpm drop. I swapped 5 and 6 coil packs and noticed that #5 has little rpm change when disconnecting it.

Cylinder bank with plugs 4,5,6 is much hotter then the rear cylinder bank and getting the rotten egg smell out the tail pile "hydrogen sulfide
smell".

Now, the owner did overtorqe the intake manifold bolts pictured here with the white arrows. The nuts, or plastic that hold the nuts are broke. I suspect a a vacuum leak as a result of this. I put my propane bottle to these points over and under the manifold. Got little if any rpm change. I tried my starter fluid but the nozzle broke before I had any change to use it.

Catalytic converter is 500F at the front and 700F at the rear.