Mazda RX-7 Starting in the 1970s, the uniquely powered RX-7 helped put Mazda on the performance car map.

Gas in the Oil??

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2008, 03:54 PM
Default Gas in the Oil??

Hey All, You've all be so helpful already to me. Thank you! I got another one though!! Ahhhh

Well, I smell gas from time to time when I am driving. Sometimes just when I get in the car.

I've been driving the car now for about 2 months putting on about 1000 miles. (this after the car has sat in a garage for years)

This past weekend I had trouble at one start-up. Ok not too bad.
Then yesterday I felt it wanting to stall when I pulled up to stop lights. I kept foot on gas soft to keep it running.

Today I checked my oil and I feel like I smell a teeny hint of gas on the dipstick. I don't know if this is just in my head.....
I also pulled the plugs today, they all looked fine and they didn't smell weird at all.
But also today car ran well, very well.

Since I decided to bring it back into the light of day from the garage I have done:
New battery
New Fuel Pump
New belts
New Spark plugs
New fluids
general clean-up
door locks haha

Any thoughts or help on my dilemma ??
why smelling gas?

Much Much appreciated
thanks

Old 10-14-2008, 04:02 PM
Default RE: Gas in the Oil??

Also recently changed oil last week.

Old 10-14-2008, 04:49 PM

this is actually pretty normal (gas in the oil thing) for rotary engines. if you do normal intervals on oil changes, the oil will smell a little like gas towards the end of the cycle. if you have gone past an oil change or let the car sit, it will be a few oil changes before it goes back to normal. it may still be a good idea to pull the injectors and have them cleaned and flow tested since it sat for a while.

on the other end of that, is the car running better now that you have done some maintenance? it seems like you just had some bad gas that may have been fouling some things up. let me know if there are any issues even after this work.