Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

98 Mazda Protege stalling problems

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2008, 04:39 PM
Default 98 Mazda Protege stalling problems

hello Everyone
I am new to the Mazda forum site but I understand how it works because I use Volvo forums quite frequently. I have a problem with my 98 Mazda Protege 1.5 liter DOHC. About a week ago I drove my car to Arby's for lunch about 2 miles and it drove fine on the way there, but as soon as I tries to leave the drivethru window I put my car (manual) in first gear and it stalled out I restarted the car easily and tried to take off and it kept trying to stall unless I would rev the engine to a high RPM. It would do this in 1st and 2md or if I full throttled 3rd, 4th and 5th don't seem to be effected but it's not a transmission problem anywasy. I ama decent mechanic so my first thought was to check fuel pressure to see if the fuel pump was going bad, the full pressure was fine as well as fuel volume, my next step I was kindof stumped so I decided to check that the cadilitic converter was not clogged. (Oh my bad I forgot to say that symptoms do not occur unless car is at operating tempurature) The converters not clogged the fuel pumpis good and now after a week of trying to figure out what is wrong with the car it finally threw a code P1195 I know this code pertains to my EGR but before I go and put a whole bunch of money in trying to throw parts at this car I figured I would try to get some expert advise.

Old 11-23-2008, 06:48 PM
Default RE: 98 Mazda Protege stalling problems

clean the egr to start since you are pulling that code. just pull the egr off and clean it with engine degreaser and a toothbrush before you re-install.

Old 12-04-2008, 05:26 PM

I cleaned the egr, throtle body and the intake I'm still having the same problem stalling out when it gets up to operating temp and seting code 1195