Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

03 LX problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2006, 11:02 PM
Default 03 LX problem

I'm a newbie here and don't know much about cars so I'm hoping for a few words of wisdom. I just bought a used 03 LX Protege a month ago with less than 30000 miles on it. Twice now it has died on me; the first time it happened I was in a traffic jam and was doing a lot of stop and go movement. All of a sudden the engine completely cut off and would not start or even crank. I got it towed to my house, but the next morning I tried starting it and it started up and ran like a champ. The second time happened the other night; I was in long line at a drive thru, stop and go, and the engine cut off again and would not start or even crank. Same thing happened, towed it home, tried it the next morning and it started and drove fine. I'm still under factory warranty, but I tried calling the Mazda dealership about the problem and I was told that if it runs fine now, there's nothing they can do unless it was not running or somtihing was actually broken. They offered to do a diagnostic, but that is not covered under warranty so I would have to pay over a hundred bucks for them to do that. Does anyone know what would cause this to happen? And could it be something as simple as a weak battery?

Old 08-10-2006, 12:59 AM
Default RE: 03 LX problem

I'd check your ground cable for the battery. Sounds like an intermittent ground. Take a look at the battery end of the wire and see if there is any corrosion there or if the cable is loose. Then trace that cable down to where it attaches to the body, then same thing. Both ends need to be fairly corrosion free to give a good ground for the electrical system.

No ground, no spark....then no crank.

Old 08-13-2006, 03:21 PM