Mazda MX-3 and Mazda MX-6 These two sporty models have become popular cars for import tuners due to the availability of parts, the low price, and the smooth lines.

adjustments on the AAS screw???????????????????

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2005, 01:34 AM
Default adjustments on the AAS screw???????????????????

newbie here guys..just got a different intake for my 1993 mx3 1.8(k8) and there was no aas screw in it,so i went and bought a new 1 from mazda,and i realize u cant give me an exact...but... like a carb. can u tell me approx. the adjustment for it,i.e turn it all the way in and back it out how many turns?thnx for any and all help

Old 09-07-2005, 05:00 AM
Default RE: adjustments on the AAS screw???????????????????

Good luck. the adjustment is preset at the factory for correct flow past the throttle butterfly at idle and has no adjust preset. Best I can give you is to take the intake back and say is missing critical part. Would be like buying a carb and having some of the jets missing!!!

Old 09-07-2005, 08:55 PM

To properly adjust the air-adjusting screw. First, warmup engine to normal operating temp. Second, go to the DLC-1 connector, mounted behind the battery, open the cover, you'll need a jumper wire, on the inside of the cover are the pin locations & names.
Take your jumper wire connect across TEN pin & GND. This sets the engine in base adjustment mode, stopping timing & idle changes.
There are no specs, on setting the AAS, just adjust until it's 670+/- 30 rpm. Check the idle speed without the electric cooling fan operating. When done remove your jumper wire. Grounding the TEN pin is also how to check trouble codes numbers if check engine
light is on. What huey is referring to is the TAS ( throttle adjust screw, which is set at factory) don't ever try adjusting the idle with it.

Old 09-07-2005, 09:59 PM