Mazda MX-3 and Mazda MX-6 These two sporty models have become popular cars for import tuners due to the availability of parts, the low price, and the smooth lines.

1991 Mazda MX-6 Dying while driving problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2012, 11:04 AM
Default 1991 Mazda MX-6 Dying while driving problem

Sorry if this is not the right board to post this question.

I have a 1991 MX-6 4cyl. The car has been shutting off while driving. But it will start right back up after it shuts off while driving. It does it any time I start to slow down rpm gauge drops to zero can't give it any gas to try and make it stay running. I can throw it in neutral start it back up and drive till i slow down again then it repeats the same thing.

Anyone have a good ideal what this is? I thinking Idle Air Control Valve or Throttle Position Sensor but like to have some advice. I'm new to Mazda

Thanks

Old 03-17-2012, 01:26 PM

Hi! Welcome to the forums!! If you could please put your cars info into your signature (year, model, engine, trans etc) it would help us all out

Is it an automatic or manual? Does it turn off like if you turned off the ignition or is it a slow loss of power to zero?

Old 03-18-2012, 09:03 AM

It is an automatic. Guess you would say it is a slow lost of power. Running fine I hit break rpm will drop to zero. Check engine light flickers then all dash light come like I just have the key turned to accessories. Then I throw it up in neutral starts right back up and give it gas it goes. But soon as I let off gas and break it will repeat all of the above. Can park for thirty min it may run fine the rest of the day no matter how many times I stop. But there is days it will do this all day.

Old 03-18-2012, 09:18 AM