Mazda Miata (MX-5) This compact RWD model, offered with many engines options for those are who want to cruise with the top down in a base model, or hit the track in one of the high performance models, has been a popular model since its introduction.

new to miata

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2007, 02:53 AM
Default new to miata

hows it goin everyone,
i recently got myself an miata1990 and so far im loving it. Just that bums me for now that is i want to get it to pick up more power.
Im new to the scene for miata's and dont know whats the best upgrades nor the swaps or the best routes for performance.
I do have experience on working on cars and modifying on the motors, as well as boosting.
So if anyone have ideas or their personal route they are heading can you please help me out? thanks
Like is it better to boost or na?
Which is simple bolt on swap motor for it?
my goal is just having 200 hp on a small RWD cuz im tired of everyone just having civics, tegs, eclipse its all the same just different colors. So i want to be different and everyone else that i asked for advice bout miata's im just getting laughed and told to get rid of it.
thanks for helping

Old 10-19-2007, 12:18 PM
Default RE: new to miata

Hey Medic,

I don't have any first hand experience in replacing your engine with a V6 or a V8, but I know that some folks have done so. Some folks also install blowers and whatever to increase horsepower, but I don't have any experience in that either.I just bought a 2008 Grand Touring MX5, copper red, PRHT, 6 speed manual, and a suspension package I really did not want. As it sits new, it is alreadyable to go much faster than I am willing to go. Iam quite happy with it in its stock configuration.