Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2021 CX-5 Carbon Edition

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2021, 11:01 AM
Question 2021 CX-5 Carbon Edition

Hello everyone.

This is my first time posting on here. I am interested in purchasing the CX 5 Carbon Edition, and had questions for people who have already purchased this vehicle. How does the car drive and look? I haven't had the chance to go check it out in person yet, so I'd like to know how the car looks aesthetic wise. Is the inside seats a bright red, or more like a dark red/maroon?

Also, would you let me know the price you paid for it? I just want to make sure I'm not over paying. Thank you.

Old 03-30-2021, 01:06 PM
Cool

You are asking very subjective questions, so you may get a variety of answers. The color is...interesting. Some love it, some don’t. I like mine but understand why it may be an acquired taste. The exterior design is not like most other SUVs, not as staid as some European designs but not as extreme as a few Asian vehicles. It stands out but the color isn’t garish like some competitors’ colors. The seats are not bright red, rather dark and subdued. But they are definitely red.

I like the driving dynamics a lot. It certainly isn’t a sports sedan regardless of what some writers claim. The steering is precise and nicely weighted, there is very little body roll until you get close to the limits, and the pairing of the turbo engine and the transmission is excellent. Ample power with quick positive shifts. Yes “only” six speeds but frankly I don’t miss having more, they just aren’t needed with the engine’s broad torque curve. Okay, an underdrive seventh gear would drop the rpm on the freeway and might save an mpg or two. Mine is FWD and I didn’t notice any differences between it and an AWD I test drove...but that was on dry Arizona roads.