Mazda 323,Mazda 626 & Mazda 929 Whether the compact 323, the mid sized 626, or the full sized 929, these vehicles remain very popular even though production has stopped.

89 323 cv joints

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2007, 04:07 AM
Default 89 323 cv joints

I just did my water pump last weekend and while I was under the car, I noticed that my left wheel's CV boot is torn open, and full of sand. The other boots are all starting to crack a bit. Does anybody know where I can find diagrams/documents on how this all comes apart? Is it a fairly easy repair, or will I need specialty tools?

Old 02-01-2007, 07:53 PM
Default RE: 89 323 cv joints

First of all, I am NOT a mechanic! But-

I have an 89 323 SOHC, and I have pretty much rebuilt the entire car over the last five years. If your boots are torn and there is sand inside, you CV lives have been greatly reduced. This being said, you will notice a very loud crunching when you turn, once the CV joint actually goes. If you do not notice this sound, I would simply clean out the CV joints as well as possible, regrease them, and put new boots on. If you buy a split boot you will not have to remove the CV rod from the tranny, you simply glue the seam together. (my split boot lasted about 4 years) If you do not fix the problem asap the CV joints will have to be replaced, which is way more expensive and time consuming.