Mazda 323,Mazda 626 & Mazda 929 Whether the compact 323, the mid sized 626, or the full sized 929, these vehicles remain very popular even though production has stopped.

1991 Mazda 323 Starting Problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2009, 09:29 PM
Default 1991 Mazda 323 Starting Problems

I love my Mazda and it has been good to me up until recently. I've had starting issues with the vehicle since I bought it, but it hasn't been a major problem until recently. I did a major tune-up on the vehicle a couple months ago, and everything has been working great until a week or two ago. I deliver pizzas for a living, so I'm constantly stopping and starting my car. One night, after several hours at work, the car just would not start. It would crank and crank but would not fire. The next day I took the battery to AutoZone. The clerk tested it and said that the readings indicated that the alternator was fine but the battery was bad. I haven't changed the battery a single time in the 3 years I've owned the vehicle, so this made sense. I buy a new battery, put it in the car, and it works fine...for a few days. A couple nights after this, the car starts up fine, I drive to a store, and when I get back out to the car it will not start again. Push starting did nothing also. I continue to try and get it to start, pumping on the gas and all, and eventually it starts. The next night at work, after driving around without problems for hours, the car refuses to start. Another guy from AutoZone comes out, runs a diagnostic, and tells me the alternator is bad. I buy a new alternator, replace the old one, and the car works fine after a jump start. Good stuff. The car works well for a few days, and now I cannot get it to start again. A couple notes: the fuel pump has always been an issue with this thing. We thought the original was a bad fuel pump, so we replaced it. The new fuel pump did not work either, so we thought it was defective. We take it back to AutoZone, get a new one, put it in,