General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

"Hesitation" While Accelerating

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2010, 09:57 PM
Exclamation "Hesitation" While Accelerating

so i am new to the Mazda Forums.. not quite sure how to navigate everything yet.. i came here to hopefully obtain some knowledge, tips, or advice to help with my car troubles. I have a 2004 Mazda 6, V6 model. i bought my car in 07 and have had it for 3 years now with vertually no problems besides replacing an air hose that was cracked.

my problem is that when i accelerate my car tends to "hesitate" to accelerate.. it kind of stutters and i feel a loss of power.. i only experience this sensation when i am accelerating, and it does NOT only happen when i am accelerating quickly.. it occurs often, yet not ALL the time.. i have a number of things in mind that may be the problem, however i am no expert on cars.. i have had a similar issue before, when i had to replace the air hose between the air filter chamber and the throttle body.. in which case the symtoms were major. after i replaced that hose, my car ran wonderful.. i checked the connections once again recently, however everything seems secure. i do have a K&N air filter that i have had for a long time now, i have no idea if that has anything to do with my issue. i havent tried many things to fix the issue yet, due to lack of time and knowledge and tools. besides i dont have the money to take my car to a shop, so i would like to try anything and everything before it gets to that point.

i would greatly appreciate any ideas or tips to help me resolve this issue. it is terribly annoying as im sure it would be for anyone, and i am worried it may be causing damage to my car somehow. any feedback would be greatly appreciated. thanks for reading my post! i look forward to hearing from anyone!

ive listed below some possible reasons for the problem:
1. transmission (hopefully not lol)
2. spark plugs