General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Help with MPV SHIFT INTERLOCK PROBLEM.

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2006, 08:47 PM
Default Help with MPV SHIFT INTERLOCK PROBLEM.

Hello there. Friend of mine has a 2000 MPV that will not come out of PARK. Now this is the situation, I am a Lexus Tech, and I am tring to help these people out, but the van is in a parking lot, and I don't have shop manual.
Anyway, The battery is fine, and I turn the key and NOTHING. The interresting part is that if you were to put your foot on the brake and try to move the shifter, you can't move it out of park. Now I looked on the brake pedal and saw the switch that controls the brake lites, and they do work. I also jumped the connectors to see if it would unlock the interlock, and nothing. Like I said, I don't have a schmatic diagram, so I really have no idea what is what. The bottom line is that when I put the key in, and turn it, no power to starter(everything else works, radio, lights,ect.. Also like I said, will not shift out of Park. Any ideas?? Please another tech write back.Thanks

Old 01-02-2007, 06:44 AM
Default RE: Help with MPV SHIFT INTERLOCK PROBLEM.

I just corrected a similar problem. First of all, to shift the shifter out of park in this situation, remove a small 1/2"x1" plastic tab above the steering column; depress the switch below the plastic tab to free up your shifter from the shift lock interlock mechanism. You'll be able to shift the shifter into each gear, but once you shift back to the Park position the shifter will lock up again. So depress the switch below the plastic tab again.