Mazda CX-7 This sporty turbocharged 4 cylinder SUV combines the spirit of a performance car with the versatility of an SUV.

Engine Starting after timing chain replacement

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2015, 10:31 AM
Default Engine Starting after timing chain replacement

Hi to all. I am new to the Mazda scene and have a 2007 CX7 and just replaced the timing chain, VVT gear and all related parts.... My issue is that I reassembled it the way the manual stated, but when I turn the engine over to start it sounds like there is no compression. Sometimes it gives a hint of compression then nothing. This is the first time I have run into this when working on timing chains/ belts on a car. Any advise would be helpful. Thank you in advance...

Old 04-15-2015, 04:31 PM

I really don't know what to tell you except it looks like your taking it back apart. What manual did you use?

Old 04-16-2015, 02:51 AM
Super Moderator

What did you use to lock the camshafts & crankshaft before disassembly?

Old 04-16-2015, 06:14 PM

I have a Mazda factory service manual in PDF form. I didn't lock the crank, but had the cam tool. It looks like i am going to have to start over and re-verify the timing. Thanks for the replies..

Old 04-17-2015, 03:46 AM
Super Moderator

If you don't lock the crank & cams at the same time before removing the crank pulley you will loose engine timing.

Old 04-17-2015, 01:49 PM

Wonderful. Thank you for the info. I guess I will have to start the whole process over.

Old 04-18-2015, 07:45 AM
Super Moderator