Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/)
-   Mazda6 (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda6-20/)
-   -   05 intermittent limp on and charge light (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda6-20/05-intermittent-limp-charge-light-40572/)

Ronbetts 09-13-2018 10:32 PM

05 intermittent limp on and charge light

My 05 Mazda 6 with 4cyinder is driving me crazy. It will go into limp in mode and the charge light comes on when accelerating. I have seen lots of complaints on other forums but no one seems to have an answer I’m a retired mechanic of 45 years so I do know my way around a car. It will sometimes indicate a code but I have yet to catch it. It will return to normal when I came to a stop and will be fine for a while. I have checked and cleaned all the grounds as I was told that was the fix. Nope still does it I have talked to several transmission shop owners that I know and they all say the same thing. Change solenoids, fluid and complete transmissions and got bit on the ass when the car was doing the same thing as before the repairs. All of them ended up changing the trans ECM and all but one said it took care of the problem. That one guy that still has the problem leads me to think it’s more than just the ECM. Any thoughts?

grim_reaper 09-14-2018 05:54 AM

The various computers will do funny things when the voltage gets too low.

The alternator is controlled by the PCM/ECU.

If the alternator &/or charging system is playing up, it should log codes, even if the engine light isn't illuminated.

Ronbetts 09-14-2018 09:31 PM

Charge light limp in

Originally Posted by grim_reaper (Post 169924)
The various computers will do funny things when the voltage gets too low.

The alternator is controlled by the PCM/ECU.

If the alternator &/or charging system is playing up, it should log codes, even if the engine light isn't illuminated.