Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/)
-   Mazda3 (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/)
-   -   New rims and TPMS (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/new-rims-tpms-21608/)

apbbnbanb_07 02-04-2010 09:39 PM

New rims and TPMS

If I were to purchase new rims, will the sensors from my stock rims work with most AM rims, or do I have to pay the $180 theyre gonna charge me?

virgin1 02-05-2010 04:28 AM

I'm not an expert, but I think and have heard that the TPMS sensors can be moved to new wheels. That may depend on a number of factors, such as where they could, or if they could be mounted inside the new wheel.
I think the OE sensors could be used?
Ask them to show you why they couldn't.

vlstellato 02-05-2010 05:38 AM

Originally Posted by apbbnbanb_07 (Post 103388)
If I were to purchase new rims, will the sensors from my stock rims work with most AM rims, or do I have to pay the $180 theyre gonna charge me?

You shouldn't have a problem, a friend of mine who is a service tech for a local garage said when the change out stock wheels to AM they do one at a time so the TMPS doesn't go in to fault mode. The only thing thats sucks is that you have to pay extra to remove the sensors from the stock wheels

Tracker 02-05-2010 04:50 PM

also you cannot get rims that are not over or undersized make sure you get the right size

virgin1 02-05-2010 06:46 PM

Originally Posted by Tracker (Post 103413)
also you cannot get rims that are over or undersized. make sure you get the right size

Please explain?
Do you mean: A new size (larger or smaller in diameter) would affect the stationary sensor location and therefore would have to be moved either inward or outward of the OE mounting point to compensate?
Is it possible that different sensor locations are built in from the factory to accommodate 16", 17" or 18" wheels?

apbbnbanb_07 02-05-2010 08:21 PM