Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/)
-   Mazda3 (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/)
-   -   Mazda 3 - Parasitic Drain (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/mazda-3-parasitic-drain-39452/)

jdschwass 02-05-2018 05:47 PM

Mazda 3 - Parasitic Drain

Hi all, this is my first time posting... never needed to before! I have been fighting with this car for weeks and I am ready to throw in the towel. I will try and summarize what I have done and experienced. I would greatly appreciate any support or suggestions... this thing is killing me.

I have a 2009 Mazda 3 Hatch. It is completely stock in every way. I stopped driving the car for the snowy month of December waiting for snow tires to come in. It was my wife's DD until then with no issues. Upon getting the tires, I went to move the car to install tires and battery was dead. I jumped it with my truck and carried on. I checked out the battery (which was old) and it was frozen solid. I swapped it with a battery from one of my summer cars and the Mazda started fine. Then within 24-48 hours it would be dead again. This carried on for a week or 2 while I tried to figure it out.