Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/)
-   Mazda3 (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/)
-   -   Looking at Buying a Mazda 3 (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/looking-buying-mazda-3-a-28144/)

SomeGuy 12-13-2011 07:42 AM

Looking at Buying a Mazda 3

Hi everyone,

I do not own a Mazda 3, but i am looking in to one to replace my current vehicle.
I drive a 2000 Ford ranger 4wd Auto and its a Pos. 12mpg on a good day, bad trans. I have done nothing but put money in to it since i bought it (in august). Lets say I'm sick of it.
I am a college student and i am looking for a reliable car with minimum repairs that gets good mpgs. I have been doing some research and from what i have read and heard is the mazda 3 is rated more reliable then a civic. If thats true (my parents own an 2010 civic with 25k miles and no problems) then i think i want one.

I have found several Mazda 3's for good deals at my local mazda dealer. I will be buying used because I don't have the money for a new one. I found an 04 Mazda 3i 92k miles auto trans (with manual shift over ride) for 7400 and an 05 Mazda 3i with 88k miles 5 speed stick for 7500. Im leaning towards the 04 because i do alot of city driving and an Auto seems easier to me. I do know how to drive a stick shift but i have very limited experience (1 year on an old beat up 2wd pick up) and it was a pain in the butt in the city (lots of hills and stops and go) im surprised the clutch didnt go.