Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/)
-   Mazda3 (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/)
-   -   DTC C0020 ABS Pump Motor Control (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda3-26/dtc-c0020-abs-pump-motor-control-33171/)

flhxtp 02-23-2014 09:14 AM

DTC C0020 ABS Pump Motor Control

Newbie here, I'm looking for any information on the ABS Pump Motor Control failure on a 2010 Mazda 3, 2.5L. The ABS & traction control light has been on for about two months now, I finally got of my a$$ and took it to my friends shop he hooked up his Snap on Verus and the DTC C0020 ABS Pump Motor Control was the only active code. He attempted to clear the active code and as soon as he went to KO the code became active immediately.

Has anyone experienced this C0020 code before?
Where can I find a trouble shoot tree for the DTC C0020 code?
What's the cost of repair, if I do the work?
What's the cost of repair if I take it to the dealer and have them rape me?

Where is the ABS Pump Motor Control assembly located? (Behind the battery?)

Thank you for your help.

grim_reaper 02-24-2014 06:08 AM

Just had a look in the workshop manual, double check the 40amp ABS fuse, check & clean the terminals in the plug connector, other than that its a internal failure. You will need to replace the whole ABS unit ( located behind the battery)
================================================== =

1. Remove the battery and battery tray. (See BATTERY REMOVAL/INSTALLATION [ZY, Z6].) (See BATTERY REMOVAL/INSTALLATION [LF, L5].)

2. Remove in the order indicated in the table.

3. Install in the reverse order of removal.

4. Switch the ignition to ON or start the engine, and maintain this condition for approx. 30 s to allow the ABS HU/CM automatic configuration to be performed.

5. Clear the DTCs from the memory. (See ON-BOARD DIAGNOSIS [ABS].)

grim_reaper 02-24-2014 06:25 AM