Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/)
-   Mazda Tribute (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda-tribute-22/)
-   -   Overheating suspect bad ECT (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda-tribute-22/overheating-suspect-bad-ect-40619/)

Ramigojag 09-21-2018 10:22 PM

Overheating suspect bad ECT

Hi all,

I'm a new member in Sydney, I've been maintaing my Mazda Tribute for over 2 years now and its been very reliable only having to do service work and replace a set of sway bar links.

It's a 2005 3.0 V6 A/T

It's done over 300K Km's

A couple of times recently the expansion bottle has overflowed and leaked coolant out normally when driving up prolonged hills (mountains) or sat in heavy traffic.

I've found to avoid this problem you have to have the A/C on constantly to make the fans kick in.

Both fans work as when the A/C is running both fan's operating exactly as they should however, switch the A/C off and sure enough the fan's won't kick in the expansion bottle slowly starts to overflow.

What's odd is the gauge works fine, shows normal warm up and maintains 90 degrees C pretty consistently.

Plugging in to the OBD with IDS doesn't show any logged faults at all and the ECT seems to operate as normal in the live data stream.

I'm assuming the ECT is what triggers the ECU to switch on the fans just for cooling, if there is something else involved does anyone know what else commands the fan to switch on when the engine gets too hot.

If it is just the ECT that triggers the fans does this sound like a problem anyone else has had before? I'm about to order a new ECT and probably change next weekend anyway.

Thanks
Callum

John Anthony 09-24-2018 09:47 AM