Mazda BT 50 & Pickup Trucks While Mazda may not be known for their trucks, they have always produced quality reliable trucks for both hauling cargo, or simply crusing. BT 50

recommended tune up parts?

Old 03-12-2014, 09:10 AM
Default recommended tune up parts?

Hello Folks, I'm new to the Mazda Forum, I have a 1992 B2200 extended Cab, manual tranny, with an aftermarket Weber carb. I purchased this about 6 weeks ago from the original owner, it has 28,000 original miles on it!!!.Overall it is in very nice condition and I plan/hope to keep it in nice shape. My questions to you folks are:
Before I do my first tune up on this, are there recommend brands for plugs, condenser, etc? Any particular brands to stay away from? How about oil brands and filters? Any recommended preventive maintenance that should be done more often than recommended in the manual?
Finally, I get 22mpg with almost exclusive 55 mph driving, and suggestions as to how to increase millage? Thanks in advance, Ed

Attached Thumbnails recommended tune up parts?-mazda-pick-up.jpg   recommended tune up parts?-mazda-pick-up-2.jpg  
Old 03-12-2014, 01:55 PM
Banned

Carbureted! Wow!
better mileage = different jets, smaller of course. May get hesitation as a result. Some tweaking to accelerator pump circuit maybe?

Quote i found: "
One of the things I do is change the main jets on the carb. I go down at least one size. This works due to fuel being thinner today. Smaller jets restrict the fuel flow. Be sure to check the spark plugs for a too lean mixture. Don't just change the jets and not check as this can lead to a hole in a piston."