Mazda BT 50 & Pickup Trucks While Mazda may not be known for their trucks, they have always produced quality reliable trucks for both hauling cargo, or simply crusing. BT 50

Holy Smoke!

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2008, 03:15 AM
Default Holy Smoke!

Newbie here... Just inherited a 1990 Mazda B2200.. Been in the family since new and well cared for... I got it after the head gasket left loose at 314,000 miles.. When I got the truck I had the head resurfaced and pressure checked, installed new valve stem seals, head gasket and timing belt..I also flushed the cooling system and installeda new thermostat... Runs like a top!!! But when left sit for at least 3 hours or more is smokes like a banchee on startup... It'll continue to smoke for about 15 or so mins then pretty much clear up.. Compression is good, no overheat or bubbles in the cooling system.. DOesn;t seem to be loosing any coolant or oil.. I replaced the valve stem seals a second time thinging I may have buggerd one up or something but still it smokes.. When the gasket blew it did get hot, twice in fact.. The first time when it initially blew, and a second time when they thought it wasjust a thermostat, replaced it, and tried it out.. Before the head gasket it did smoke slightly but only for maybe 30 seconds after startup.... Typical of old valve stem seals...Just wanted to see if I'm on the right track in thinking that the rings got cooked one the over heats...

Old 10-10-2008, 03:48 AM
Default RE: Holy Smoke!