Mazda BT 50 & Pickup Trucks While Mazda may not be known for their trucks, they have always produced quality reliable trucks for both hauling cargo, or simply crusing. BT 50

2002 Mazda B3000 - Sounding like a miss

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2014, 02:29 PM
Default 2002 Mazda B3000 - Sounding like a miss

I hope I'm in the right place here, if not, please let me know. I have a bit of a problem which sounds and feels like a miss in my vehicle. I'm not sure how to diagnose it though. My father's a mechanic by trade so some of the things I did were done at his advice.

A few weeks ago my pickup started "bucking" when I began to accelerate. A little hesitation if you will. A little later I started feeling this "bucking" while idling. A couple of days after that I finally got my first code - a misfire in cylinder 3 (P0303). I went ahead and replaced plugs and wires as the vehicle has 75k on it and nothing had been done as far as general maintenance. After replacing the plugs and wires I'm experiencing no more, or fewer, problems while accelerating but idling is just rough, vehicle is "bucking", and acceleration from a stop, overall is very poor. It has not stalled yet, but frequently feels that way. My wife says its better with the AC off but the jury is out on that still. It might just be better by coincidence. Another code came on today which has been read as "misfire in cylinder 1 (P0301).

My father suggested I spray carburetor cleaner over air hoses, etc, to try and determine if there's a vacuum leak somewhere. I suppose the engine would momentarily change the way it's running. Did that, no change.

I also purchased the silly fuel injector cleaners. I doubt it will make a difference. But I have it and will use it shortly.

Looking at the engine I see nothing arcing or otherwise out of the ordinary.