Mazda BT 50 & Pickup Trucks While Mazda may not be known for their trucks, they have always produced quality reliable trucks for both hauling cargo, or simply crusing. BT 50

1st post... Reoccuring problem major headaches

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2008, 11:18 PM
Default 1st post... Reoccuring problem major headaches

i just found this website and plan to stick around. To give you some background on my mazda. It's a 1989 B2200 5-speed with 174,000 miles my grandparents gave the truck to me about 6 years ago they said theengine was rebuilt at some point. I have been driving it sparringly for about the last 2 years. Over that time the truck has accumulated some problems. As of recently I have fixed most of them but theres been one problem that has been eluding me. My problem is that the engine pushes oil out the hose that goes in the top of the valve cover to the air cleaner housing. At first it was doing this rarely and when it happened it would be blowing blue smoke like CRAZY!!! As of recently the truck has been doing it more and more. To alleviate the burning oil I took the hose and routed it into the windshield washer fluid resevoir. This has let me know when the problem occurs. I've noticed that when I drive at 65mph + I can feel the truck fighting the back pressure in the crankcase. It feels like it oscilates a little. this even happens at any speed if you keep the trottle input consistant. Just a side note the truck idle has been inconsistant and it ranges from barely running to a pretty high idle.

I have done a lot more than what I have listed but this post it long enough already... Whew

Thank you for any input

Old 05-24-2008, 02:21 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: 1st post... Reoccuring problem major headaches

Welcome jiggityjoe87!!
1. Have you checked or replaced the PCV valve?
2. Could the oil returns in the cylinder head (by the push rods) be clogging w/gunk?
3. Have you checked, replaced or cleaned the EGR valve?

Old 05-24-2008, 03:05 PM