Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/)
-   Mazda MPV (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda-mpv-17/)
-   -   2000 Mpv hesitating when idling (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda-mpv-17/2000-mpv-hesitating-when-idling-16810/)

delmad 12-16-2008 07:09 PM

2000 Mpv hesitating when idling

HELP!!!
My engine light is on - has been on for about 2 weeks (not really a new thing, it comes and goes-except this time its not going out).
Then it started sputtering or hesitating when I am stopped at a light - so in idle. It feels like it will stall - seems to be worse when the van is warmed up.Its minus 30 here right now and it seems to run better when I first start it up. A smell is coming from the exhaust too - maybe a gas smell(can you tell I'm not good at cars!!)
I have to spend $50 to $75 to get the code checked here. I am trading the vehicle in in the next couple of weeks - and of course, don't think I'll get much for it when this is going on.
Anyone have any ideas?
Does it sound bad? I don't want to spend to much on it since I'm getting rid of it.
Thanks for any help.

MJP68 12-16-2008 07:52 PM

RE: 2000 Mpv hesitating when idling

sounds like a misfire, without knowing your mileage its a guess no matter what.
2.5l mpv's had several things that would/could cause misfiring.
large vacuum leaks (pcv hose under throttle body)intake manifold gaskets usually run worse when cold then get better
after warmup.
my best guess would be to replace the spark plugs and plug wires (use oe parts)
the high idle during warmup will mask the misfire, making it less noticable.
that engine is also prone to carbon buildup in the intake as well as deposits in the injectors. (both usually contribute to cold start misfiring)

delmad 12-16-2008 09:33 PM

Oops sorry - its got 192,000 kms

delmad 12-16-2008 09:36 PM