Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/)
-   Mazda 323,Mazda 626 & Mazda 929 (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda-323-mazda-626-mazda-929-24/)
-   -   Valve Clatter or ticking (https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/mazda-323-mazda-626-mazda-929-24/valve-clatter-ticking-18374/)

gadwhite 04-17-2009 05:50 PM

Valve Clatter or ticking

Hi Im a newbie here, but did try a search for my issue before bothering you guys ( Valve noise, valve, clatter etc).

I have a 1989 626 ( non-turbo) 4 cyl, with 127,000miles. Car was running fine before sitting for about 1 week. Had my daughter start the car and it ran and idled fine, had her shut of the car and restart, then heard a loud ticking or clattering noise. The noise frequency increases when we accelerated slightly. Have started the car several times and noise is constant. Used a long handled screwdriver to try to determine where on the engine noise is coming from, and think it is arouind the #2 cyl intake valve.
My question is are valve problems ( sticking), or timing belt problems common on these cars?
Has anyone had this or a similar problem?
Any recommendations on how to proceed with diagnosis, and then repair?

just want to save time effort and $ , so any tips appreciated.

virgin1 04-17-2009 08:39 PM

'Sounds entirely possible. That or a chunk of carbon is holding things up in there. But w/o actually being there, it is hard to know what it is you are hearing.
How's the oil?
I am not aware of any serious timing belt issues with these cars, and if it seems to be only one cyl in the middle of the block then I think you could rule that one out.
You may just have to go a little deeper on your own. e.g. remove the valve cover and start the car, but drape a rag (or two) over the exposed head so oil doesn't splash every where as it's running.

hixx 04-17-2009 08:57 PM