Mazda 323,Mazda 626 & Mazda 929 Whether the compact 323, the mid sized 626, or the full sized 929, these vehicles remain very popular even though production has stopped.

Clutch slave cylinder R & R.

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2014, 08:09 PM
Default Clutch slave cylinder R & R.

Hi folks: I need to change the slave cylinder on my 1989 323 base 2dr. hatchback 1.6L
and I have never done it before. I have to tell you that i'am good with tools and can do just about anything, because I've done it. So with that said-I need some direction on how to accomplish this. Reason why i'am changing it is because is leaking inside the vehicle on the floor, and I have almost no clutch action to move the vehicle...
Any help will be greatly appreciated-thanks..Oh! I have a Chilton manual, it is of no help-I might have to go on this half coked...

Last edited by candido; 04-10-2014 at 10:31 PM.
Old 04-10-2014, 09:33 PM

The master cylinder is on the pedal, the slave cylinder is at the clutch. Since you find fluid inside the car are you sure it is from the slave cylinder?
I never did this job myself but I did replace wheel cylinders on drum brakes. I guess it is as simple as that.

Old 04-10-2014, 10:35 PM

Thanks Tanprotege--I'll look into this. Some one told me that the master is in the engine compartment, and slave was under the cluch pedal. Will advice on what i'll find.

Last edited by candido; 04-11-2014 at 06:34 PM.
Old 04-11-2014, 05:27 AM
Super Moderator

The clutch master cylinder bolts thru the firewall, you can see either side of it from either side of the firewall. This is what would leak above the pedals inside the car.

The clutch slave cylinder bolts to either the inside or outside of the bell-housing. This is where the system is bled.

Old 04-11-2014, 06:32 PM
Angry