Mazda5 This new sport van from Mazda offers the interior size and usefulness of a minivan with the feel and spirit of a sport compact.

2.0 sport mazda 5

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2008, 10:12 AM
Default 2.0 sport mazda 5

Hi fellow mazda owners , i own a uk mazda 5 2 litre sport 56 plate. Recently i have been noticing a couple of problems.The engine seems to be reving very high through the gears which makes it very sluggish.I know that cabin noise is supposed to be not to good on the 5 but it does seem to rev to loud which makes me have to change gear very early.The other problem is the steering which almost feels to me as though the wheels are out of balance because it jumps slightly as i turn the wheel .I am not very technically minded on these things soany suggestions would be helfull or is it just a case of getting mazda to check it over. tia

Pulsar

Old 06-03-2008, 12:36 PM
Default RE: 2.0 sport mazda 5

Hi Pulsar,

Is it a petrol or diesel? How many miles? When was it last serviced? Do you mean the engine is noisy when you rev it or is it revving up on it's own as you change gear?

The steering.....check your tyres! Turn the steering to full lock and carefully check the full width of the tyres then turn it the other way and do the same. Check the rear tyres as well. If you're not sure take it someone who can check it for you. If the tyres are worn excessively on their outer edges take it to a dealer and kick up a fuss, and ask them to check the alignment. If the tyres are OK have the balancing checked and while they're at it ask them to check you haven't got a buckled wheel.

Do you mean the steering wheel judders as you drive or jerks as you turn it?

Old 06-04-2008, 08:21 AM

Hi NickC,