Go Back   Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums > Mazda Vehicles > Mazda3
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-25-2008, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to 04Mazda3Sport Send a message via Yahoo to 04Mazda3Sport
Default Turn Signal Flasher Location

I'm needing to find the turn signal flasher so I can replace it with an aftermarket flasher so I can run LED turn signals. I read somewhere that it is located on an 04 3 behind the IC and its about 1x2 inches and white. I am having no luck finding it in the car, and even All Data isn't helping me any. If anyone can help me I would greatly appreciate it. A pic of it would be great, or even a diagram. Thanks, Scott.
Register today for free or log-in if already registered to remove this ad!
__________________
jaimie08mazda3: you are the weakest link goodbye!
http://i376.photobucket.com/albums/o.../Signature.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2008, 06:40 PM
virgin1's Avatar
Super Moderator
2004 Mazda Mazda3
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manor, TX (Outside of Austin)
Posts: 8,567
Default RE: Turn Signal Flasher Location

Damn Scott, that was an old post of mine you found. I think I posted that on Mz3F.com, right?
I never did find or replace the OE flasher, no one had answer for me either, but think I saw the white box when looking under at the instrument cluster one day. Impossible to reach w/o removal of it, and so since I wasn't sure of my facts I let it go. (<<< LAZY!!!)
I am running LEDs in the rear and am using 6 ohm resisters. They are working just fine. The brake/running lights don"t require a resister.
__________________


"There is no tool you can buy that will replace experience." - Josh Mills, C.K.DeLuxe/Koolhouse Publishing

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2008, 07:47 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,426
Default RE: Turn Signal Flasher Location

There is no flasher relay on the Mz3. The turn signals/hazards and even the sound are electronically controlled by the car's computer. If you want to add LED turn signals and avoid the quick-flash you get with the LED's decreased resistance you need to install load equalizers at the lights themselves.

Oh and while typing this I accidentally flipped my firefox into "night" mode...... basically all the colors inverted so everything that was white is now black, my text is white, and the purple forum banner is green....... anyone know how I managed that? lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2008, 07:59 PM
virgin1's Avatar
Super Moderator
2004 Mazda Mazda3
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manor, TX (Outside of Austin)
Posts: 8,567
Default RE: Turn Signal Flasher Location

Well! Look at you!! After 2-3 yrs of wondering where the little sucker was, here you had the answer all the time. I figured that one day I'd take the instrument cluster out for some reason and find it there, but you just saved me the trouble.
I wonder how the heck the ECU does that? And why bother? Wouldn't it just be easier and cheaper to install a flasher relay?
__________________


"There is no tool you can buy that will replace experience." - Josh Mills, C.K.DeLuxe/Koolhouse Publishing

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2008, 08:47 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,426
Default RE: Turn Signal Flasher Location

Technically I haven't had the answer for 2-3 years.... I think I only learned that in the last six months or so. That being said I did get to sound all smart. :P
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to 04Mazda3Sport Send a message via Yahoo to 04Mazda3Sport
Default RE: Turn Signal Flasher Location

Yeah, that was where I found it. Sorry it took so long for me to reply, but just like you Richard, I wasn't getting notifications of this thread.....good thing I ran across it today. The 2 questions that remain are do I need to install a resistor for the third brake light? I was reading somewhere that you need one to stop it from flashing when the brake is applied (doesn't sound too legit to me). As for my other question, do I need one for the side markers as well, i.e. the repeaters?
__________________
jaimie08mazda3: you are the weakest link goodbye!
http://i376.photobucket.com/albums/o.../Signature.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:37 PM
virgin1's Avatar
Super Moderator
2004 Mazda Mazda3
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manor, TX (Outside of Austin)
Posts: 8,567
Default RE: Turn Signal Flasher Location

I was running LED bulbs in the rear for several years, then installed the XenonMods 3rd brake light and all of a sudden my cruise control would disengage when I used the turn signals. In short, yes, if you are going all the way w/LEDs, you will need a resister somewhere in there.

Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________


"There is no tool you can buy that will replace experience." - Josh Mills, C.K.DeLuxe/Koolhouse Publishing

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:20 PM
Siber Express's Avatar
Super Moderator
2010 Ford Mustang
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Clinton Tennessee
Posts: 1,315
Default RE: Turn Signal Flasher Location

They have the resister built in mine I am guessing, since it came with the LED third brake light. I am hoping it is built in before the running/brake light bulbs since I am switching then over soon.



__________________
2010 Mustang V6 Premium






He Who Dies With The Most Toys Is Nonetheless DEAD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:27 PM
virgin1's Avatar
Super Moderator
2004 Mazda Mazda3
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manor, TX (Outside of Austin)
Posts: 8,567
Default RE: Turn Signal Flasher Location

It shouldn"t (?) matter since they are on the same circuit, but since they come w/tungsten filiment bulbed running/tailights, that would be your resister.
If you change over to all LEDs you will probably need to install one.
What I have, what you see there, is nothing more than a 20w 8ohm resister from RS (I already had it in my box)installed in some plumbers strap to a screw that was already there and grounded.
__________________


"There is no tool you can buy that will replace experience." - Josh Mills, C.K.DeLuxe/Koolhouse Publishing

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:00 PM
Siber Express's Avatar
Super Moderator
2010 Ford Mustang
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Clinton Tennessee
Posts: 1,315
Default RE: Turn Signal Flasher Location

I know I will have to put the load resister in turn signals, since I think I am going to change all including the Repeaters to LED lights.
__________________
2010 Mustang V6 Premium






He Who Dies With The Most Toys Is Nonetheless DEAD
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 08:00 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
1998, 626, change, cx7, flasher, location, mazda, mazda3, miata, mpv, problem, relay, replacement, signal, turn


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
Med Center Mazda
Pelham, AL 35235


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.



SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.