Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Mazda 3 2.0L - A/C problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2006, 11:32 AM
Default Mazda 3 2.0L - A/C problem

Hi, I'm new in this forum..be gentle with me

I have Mazda 3 2.0 L 5 doors, `06.
I live in Israel which has a very hot weahter most of the year.
I noticed the A/C compressor is disengangin when I drive hard and fast - i.e - full throttle, high revs.
Since I am a very aggressive driver and I live in the country side, I find my self driving without A/C for long minutes,
and I can't stand it.
If that's not enough - the hoter is it outside - the more likely the A/C will stop.
I went to the dealer, they did a test-drive with me, with the diagnostics computer connected, they confirmed the A/C
is disconnecting, but it's normal behaviour, since the compuer realises the driver wants max power - it cuts the A/C...
I checked this in another identical car - same problem. but on the 1600cc model - it doesn't happen.
Now I have to find a solution by myself - the dealer can't help me since it's by design and no way to bypass it in the computer
program.
I was thinking to run a bypass wire from the A/C button to the compressor directly. ot via a relay - would this work ?
Did anyone hear of this issue ?
Can you guide me to a solution ?

Old 07-12-2006, 12:04 PM
Default RE: Mazda 3 2.0L - A/C problem

Be careful as you don't want the AC compressor to overheat.

FYI...Max AC is achieved with the system in recirculate mode. (It only needs to cool from whatever your interior temp is rather than having to cool from the high outside temps.) I believe that the AC compressor kicks in via a magnetic clutch. I'm not sure how you would bypass that.

Old 07-12-2006, 12:15 PM

thanks, assuming that in normal car (like the 1600cc) the compressor works all the time in hot days, it's shouldn't be
a problem.