Mazda Tribute This low-priced SUV allows the driver the versatility of an SUV without the big fuel bill of many of the vehicles in the SUV class.

Mazda Tribute rattle

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2012, 07:21 AM
Default Mazda Tribute rattle

Hi,
I've got a 2002 Mazda Tribute, 128k on the clock.
December last year I had the transmission mounts replaced, since then the car has developed a rattle, I'm not sure if the replaced mounts & new rattle are connected.

The rattle almost sounds as if its under the drivers seat, maybe a bit forward of that, I can be sat at lights and can here the rattle, then take the car out of gear and the rattle will vanish. Travelling at certain speeds I can also hear it too, at other speeds it's not there.

Has anyone any ideas or suggestions as to what it may be, and also a cure. I'm a total novice when it comes to car & mechanics so any help or advice really would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance

jostu001

Old 03-17-2012, 01:11 PM

Hi! Welcome to the forums!! If you could please put your cars info into your signature (year, model, engine, trans etc) it would help us all out

Can you describe the rattle a bit more? Is it plastic like, metal like? Can you feel it at all? What speeds do you hear it at?

Old 03-19-2012, 06:20 AM

Many thanks for the response, I've a very limited knowledge when it comes to car however, the noise appears to be coming from underneath the drivers seats, on looking under the car I've notice the exhaust is the other side of the car so I don't think its that. It sounds like metal on metal, is a quick rattle and is more prominent when the car is first started, at slower speeds and at about 1800-2000RPM. It will do it when stationary at lights, and if I take it out of gear it will stop. Most frustrating!
Thanks again.
Stuart

Old 03-19-2012, 06:58 AM