Mazda Tribute This low-priced SUV allows the driver the versatility of an SUV without the big fuel bill of many of the vehicles in the SUV class.

Coil Packs - Mazda Tribute

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2009, 02:16 PM
Default Coil Packs - Mazda Tribute

Hey all,
I'm going to be completely honest first of all and say I have no knowledge regarding vehicle mechanics. I recently bought a 2002 Mazda Tribute. This was the end of October. A few days later my engine light came on, eventually it started blinking. I had my mechanic test it and I forget the code he gave me, but he said it needed a new catalytic converter. I actually ended up taking it to a different mechanic that said it just had a bad coil pack. (it had recently been missing pretty bad while driving). Anyway, that seemed to fix the problem until a few days later, the engine light came on and it started acting up again the same way. We called him back and he told us it was probably another coil pack and to bring it back and he would replace that as well. I'm just curious if this is normal. Since I know nothing about this kind of thing, I would hate to think that my mechanic isn't correctly fixing the problem. Does anyone have experience with this? Does this sound normal, or do you think it really could be the catalytic converter? Thanks for all advice!

Old 01-05-2010, 03:09 PM

To be able to judge correctly, you should write down the codes.
Then, if the codes are different than what your mechanic is telling you, you might have an answer.
The coils on these cars go bad. Try to pick them up online, you might get a break and get them cheaper then what the dealer is charging. Also, if it's the front coils, these are easy to change. The rear ones might pose a problem, especially if you never wrenched before. If you have somebody who is good with tools, even the rear ones are not too bad.