Mazda Tribute This low-priced SUV allows the driver the versatility of an SUV without the big fuel bill of many of the vehicles in the SUV class.

Clutch problem or motor mount?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2015, 03:09 PM
Default Clutch problem or motor mount?

I just picked up an 03 tribute. 5spd. I am having the worst time getting used to its clutch set up, the throw is the shortest I have ever dealt with. I have been driving manual cars for almost 20 years. Cars from a built 01 mustang gt with over 400hp to a fiat abarth. For the life of me, first gear is just super sensitive. Then you know...... you get the whole truck shaking (embarrassing). I have to start of very slow for it to not do this, even then its touchy. Today I figured I would just try second gear starting off.......no problem. It grabs perfect and goes. So would a bad motor mount cause this first gear issue? Or are these trucks with its small inline 4 just really touchy with its clutch set up? Any help is appreciated.

Old 10-28-2015, 03:01 PM

If you are having the same problem, it was an easy fix. Pop off the clutch cylinder(rod) connecting to the clutch pedal. I gave it two turns counter clockwise once I disconnected it . The clutch feel perfect now.

Old 10-28-2015, 03:25 PM