Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

2000 Mazda Protege DX 1.6L, DOHC and Cam Timing Marks

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2009, 08:47 PM
Default 2000 Mazda Protege DX 1.6L, DOHC and Cam Timing Marks

Yes, I am a shade tree mechanic. But I read and research before I ask questions, so thanks for your help in solving this "obvious" problem.

With the help of the Haynes manual at my side and 92,000 miles on the car, I proceeded to remove and replace the timing belt and water pump plus the power steering belt & the alternator belt.

Everything was going great until I went to align the timing marks on the crankshaft plus the intake and exhaust cam sprockets. The Hanes Manual that illustrates the marks for the 2000 Protege 1.6L DOHC (along with 5-6 other models) is flat wrong. No marks in that illustration even resemble the provided marks on the engine. I have tried various layouts, but nothing works to the point of the engine starting while it is turning over and putting out much raw gas smell. I suspect that my problem involves getting the cylinder Top Dead Center set right. The Haynes manual is poor at describing this on a DOHC engine, especially the 1.6L.

What I would REALLY like to do is use the intake/exhaust cams position/proximity to the valves. The cam shafts have not been removed from my engine, so I am confident that because the new timing belt installed and the crankshaft timing mark set straight up @ 12:00, if I get both camshafts positioned correctly, when I put the timing belt on and tensioned correctly, the car should be able to not only turn over but also start.

FYI: I also replaced the two coil packs and the two spark plug wires plus the four spark plugs.

Question: What is the best way to get the cam shafts properly positioned so I can slip the new timing belt and close up the valve cover? Any illustrations / pictures, etc are welcomed.