Mazda MX-3 and Mazda MX-6 These two sporty models have become popular cars for import tuners due to the availability of parts, the low price, and the smooth lines.

clutch won't disengage?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2007, 09:08 PM
Default clutch won't disengage?

Just got this 92 MX3 GS 5 speed. It shifts through the gears smoothly while off but after starting the motor it won't go into gear with the clutch depressed the whole way. Then a friend suggested starting it in gear to see how it acts and when I did that the car started moving immediately after starting it. And this is while I have the clutch pedal to the floor. This suggests obviously that the clutch isn't disengaging. Where should I start looking? I was thinking slave cylinder but not sure as I'm new to hydraulic clutches.

Old 03-05-2007, 09:27 PM
Default RE: clutch won't disengage?

Is there any hydraulic fluid in the resevoir? The resevoir for the clutch system is shared with the brakes. The clutch part of the resevoir will be the back 1" of brake resevoir. Maybe is dry due to release cylinder leakage and now have air in the system.

Old 03-05-2007, 10:32 PM

The fluid level is just above the minimum line. I'll add some tommorow but doubt it will make a difference

Old 03-06-2007, 06:52 PM

Make sure the level at very back of resevoir is ok and not in the front section. Fluid level can look good at front and still be low in the back. Helps to shine a light thru the side of resevoir as will show the level better. Adding fluid at this point will not help if low as there is probably air already in the system that will need to be bled out.