Mazda 323,Mazda 626 & Mazda 929 Whether the compact 323, the mid sized 626, or the full sized 929, these vehicles remain very popular even though production has stopped.

Valve Clatter or ticking

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2009, 05:50 PM
Default Valve Clatter or ticking

Hi Im a newbie here, but did try a search for my issue before bothering you guys ( Valve noise, valve, clatter etc).

I have a 1989 626 ( non-turbo) 4 cyl, with 127,000miles. Car was running fine before sitting for about 1 week. Had my daughter start the car and it ran and idled fine, had her shut of the car and restart, then heard a loud ticking or clattering noise. The noise frequency increases when we accelerated slightly. Have started the car several times and noise is constant. Used a long handled screwdriver to try to determine where on the engine noise is coming from, and think it is arouind the #2 cyl intake valve.
My question is are valve problems ( sticking), or timing belt problems common on these cars?
Has anyone had this or a similar problem?
Any recommendations on how to proceed with diagnosis, and then repair?

just want to save time effort and $ , so any tips appreciated.

Last edited by gadwhite; 04-18-2009 at 07:25 PM.
Old 04-17-2009, 08:39 PM
Super Moderator

'Sounds entirely possible. That or a chunk of carbon is holding things up in there. But w/o actually being there, it is hard to know what it is you are hearing.
How's the oil?
I am not aware of any serious timing belt issues with these cars, and if it seems to be only one cyl in the middle of the block then I think you could rule that one out.
You may just have to go a little deeper on your own. e.g. remove the valve cover and start the car, but drape a rag (or two) over the exposed head so oil doesn't splash every where as it's running.

Old 04-17-2009, 08:57 PM